It’s unfair for some teams to play four matches whiles others play two – Leonardo Jardim

“It is unfair some teams have to play four matches in eight days and other teams can rest and only play two.” He said.

The head coach for Al-Hilal FC, Leonardo Jardim in Abu Dhabi yesterday expressed his discomfort with how the organisers of the FIFA club world cup had given a game-free advantage to the European side going into the semi-finals stage of the competition with the current European champions, Chelsea.

He stated emphatically that “It is unfair some teams have to play four matches in eight days and other teams can rest and only play two.”

Al Hilal on Sunday Sunday had a 6:1 score line walkover on Aljazira FC the winners of the UAE professional league and played Chelsea yesterday at 4:30 pm.

The head coach was furious about the special treatment given to the European side.

The FIFA club world cup is an intentional tournament organized by the governing body of football, FIFA among the club champions in all the six continents and the league winner of the host country.

This tournament came into existence in 2000 with Real Madrid emerging as the most successful side with 4 titles.

The 2021 FIFA club world cup started on 3rd February and will end on the 12th day of February, 2022 at UNITED ARAB EMIRATES, Abu Dhabi.

The participating teams are:
1. Al Alhly, the confederation of African Football(CAF) champions league winner.

2. Monterrey, the winners of the confederation of north, central America and Caribbean football association (CONCACAF) champions league.

3. Chelsea, the European champions league winners

4. Palmeiras, representing the South American continent, thus the south American football confederation (CONMEBOL) as they won the Copa Libertadores.

5. Al Jazira, who had the opportunity because of the hosting right and also as the winner of their domestic league, thus UAE PRO. LEAGUE.

6. AS Pirae from the Oceania football confederation(OFC).

7. Al-Hilal, Asian football confederation (AFC)Champions league winners.

As it stands now, these four teams stand tall for the trophy after the elimination stage, Al hilal, Chelsea, Al ahly and Monterrey FC, left in the semi-final stage.

By: Awartey H. Samuel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *